EMAC members include undergraduates, graduate students, and postdocs from a variety of backgrounds. Many are students in the Energy and Resources Group or Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. We also collaborate with researchers in the Energy Technologies Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Duncan Callaway

Duncan is an Associate Professor of Energy and Resources with an affiliate appointment in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, and a Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Here is his CV.

Graduate students


Former Lab Members


  • Mengqi Yao (2020-2022), now Engineer, Advanced Motor Technology at Lucid Motors
  • Bala Kameshwar Poolla (2020-2021), now Researcher at NREL
  • Antoine Lesage-Landry (2019-2020), now Assistant Professor at Polytechnique Montréal
  • Mingxi Liu (2016-2018), now Assistant Professor at the University of Utah
  • Matthias Negrete-Pincetic (2012-2014), now Assistant Professor at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Josh Taylor (2011-2013), now Associate Professor at the University of Toronto

PhD students

  • Will Gorman (ERG, 2022), now Research Scientist at LBNL
  • Rodrigo Henriquez (EECS, 2022), now Research Engineer at NREL
  • Jonathan Lee (ERG, 2022), now Director of Research at New Sun Road
  • Jose Daniel Lara (ERG, 2022), now Senior Staff Researcher at NREL
  • Anna Brockway (ERG, 2022), now Senior Climate Adaptation Adviser at Southern California Edison
  • Isa Ferrall (ERG, 2021), now postdoc at NREL
  • Paty Hidalgo-Gonzales (ERG, 2020), now Assistant Professor, UCSD
  • Froylan Sifuentes (ERG, 2018), now Assistant Professor at Western Washington University
  • Roel Dobbe (EECS, 2018), now a postdoc at the AI Now Institute at NYU, and starting as an assistant professor at the Department of Technology, Policy and Management at TU Delft
  • Felipe Castro (ERG, 2017), now Economist at Fiscala Nacional Econmica de Chile
  • Imran Sheikh (ERG, 2017) now Assistant Professor at Western Washington University
  • Ranjit Deshmukh (ERG, 2016), now Assistant Professor of Environmental Science, UC Santa Barbara
  • Michael Cohen (ERG, 2016), now Lead Developer at New Sun Road
  • Daniel Arnold (ME; co-Chair with David Auslander, 2016), now Research Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
  • Michaelangelo Tabone (ERG, 2016), now Energy Algorithms Engineer at Nest
  • Autumn Preskill (ERG, 2015), now Lead Software Developer at Transfix
  • Sam Borgeson (ERG, 2014), now at Convergence Data Analytics
  • Johanna Mathieu (Mech E, 2013), now Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan

MS students

  • Peter Worley (ERG, 2019), now at Go Sustainable Energy